jintropin

Calendar

February 2015
M T W T F S S
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
232425262728  

Pages

Archives

Recent Posts

Blogroll





Archive for February 10th, 2015

In the past five years, over seventy people with disabilities have been murdered by their parents. We see the same pattern repeating over and over again. A parent kills their disabled child. The media portrays these murders as justifiable and inevitable due to the “burden” of having a disabled person in the family. If the parent stands trial, they are given sympathy and  comparatively lighter sentences, if they are sentenced at all. The victims are disregarded, blamed for their own murder at the hands of the person they should have been able to trust the most, and ultimately forgotten. And then the cycle repeats.
 

For the last four years, ASAN, ADAPT, Not Dead Yet, the National Council on Independent Living, the Disability Rights Education & Defense Fund, and other disability rights organizations have come together at local vigils across the country to mourn those losses, bring awareness to these tragedies, and demand justice and equal protection under the law for all people with disabilities.


On March 1st, we will come together again, and we ask you to join us.

 

There is just one week left to sign up to be a site coordinator and hold a vigil in your area.

 

Current Vigil Sites:

 

Anchorage, AK
Mary Ellen O’Brien, maryellenrob@gmail.com

 

Tempe, AZ
Xander McDonald, xmcdnd@gmail.com

 

Berkeley, CA
Brent White, brent@alacosta-acat.com

The Disability Rights Education & Defense Fund (DREDF), co-sponsor

 

Sacramento, CA
Stacy Shaw, asansacramento@gmail.com

 

Washington, DC
Jean Winegardner, jwinegardner@autisticadvocacy.org

 

Kissimmee, FL
Teresa Geiger-Sturgis, tgsturgis@yahoo.com

 

Atlanta/Decatur, GA
Kit Mead, silverbrook.aka.silva@gmail.com

 

Captain Cook, HI
Des Hirsh, autisticdimensionshi@gmail.com

 

Chicago, IL
Steph Ban, sban@uchicago.edu

Gurnee, IL
Roman Segal, roman.i.segal@gmail.com

Cambridge, MA
Finn Gardiner, fgardiner@autisticadvocacy.org

 

Medford, MA
Rachel Sommer, gingicat@gmail.com


Salem, MA
Hala O’Keeffe, halalettieri@gmail.com

 

Ypsilanti, MI
Jonas Blauer, jmblauer@gmail.com

 

Albuquerque, NM
Star Ford, starluciaford@gmail.com

 

Edison, NJ
Carole Tonks, ctonks@adacil.org

 

Brooklyn, NY
Debra Baker, mamadeb1963@gmail.com

 

Flushing, NY
Marvin Finkelstein, mrv11292013@gmail.com

 

New City, NY
Jason Ross, jasonross18@gmail.com

 

Rochester, NY
Diane Coleman, dcoleman@notdeadyet.org

Portland, OR
Phoebe Loomis, P.Loomis.PDX@gmail.com

 

Springfield, OR
Alex Taylor, alextaylor1359@gmail.com

 

Pittsburgh, PA
Jess Hughes, jess.fridy@gmail.com

 

Dallas, TX
Carly Allison McCullar-Main, carlyallisonmccullar@gmail.com

Salt Lake City, UT
Adair Kovac, adairkovac@gmail.com

 

Sultan, WA
Anca Moreno, anca.moreno@yahoo.com

Beloit, WI
Reid Caplan, caplanr@beloit.edu

 

AUSTRALIA

 

Kearneys Spring, Queensland
Nora Gainey, newnoz@gmail.com

 

AZERBAIJAN

 

Baku
Aytan Eynalova, Aytenhamza@hotmail.com

 

CANADA

 

New Westminster, BC
Alanna Whitney, alannarosewhitney@yahoo.com

 

NETHERLANDS

 

Amsterdam
Ellen Balledux, ellenbx@quicknet.nl

 

UNITED KINGDOM

Preston, Lancashire
John Meghen, JMPMeghen@uclan.ac.u



 Edvard Munch's Separation

Edvard Munch’s Separation

 

This month’s British Journal of Psychiatry has the latest in their ’100 words’ series on the Norwegian artist Edvard Munch, famous for his iconic painting ‘The Scream’ and his own struggles with mental illness.

 

The Norwegian Expressionist Edvard Munch caused outrage when his paintings were first shown in Berlin but became one of the most prolific artists of his time. Often described as having had bipolar affective disorder, his low moods and sense of isolation are evident in works such as The Scream, Separation,and Evening on Karl Johan. Yet the evidence of his diaries and his many biographies suggest more plausible diagnoses of depressive disorder and comorbid alcohol dependence.

 

Read in Full:  http://mindhacks.com/2010/10/05/edvard-munch-in-100-words/

Edvard Munch: Evening on Karl Johan. 1889.

Edvard Munch: The Scream. 1893

 

Artsy’s Edvard Munch Page

 

This newly designed page includes his bio, over 20 of his works, exclusive articles about Munch, as well as his up-to-date exhibitions – it’s a unique Edvard Munch resource.  ~ Special Thanks to Nicholas over at Artsy for putting this wonderful resource together and for alerting us to it.

 

https://www.artsy.net/artist/edvard-munch

 

Also, check out “10 Screams for Edvard Munch’s 150th Birthday”:

https://www.artsy.net/post/editorial-10-screams-for-edvard-munchs-150th-birthday