5kits zhao

Calendar

February 2014
M T W T F S S
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
2425262728  

Pages

Archives

Blogroll






 

This Saturday, March 1, is the 2014 Day of Mourning – a day for disability communities, organizations, and support groups around the country will gather and cherish the memories of those who we have lost to senselessness violence at the hands of those closest to us and to continue to strive to seek justice for these crimes so as to prevent them from ever occurring again.

 

In the past five years, over forty people with disabilities have been murdered by their parents. In the year since our last vigil, our community has lost at least ten more victims. In January of 2014 alone, two more disabled people were lost in murder-suicides at the hands of their parents: Damien Veraghen, age nine, and Vincent Phan, age twenty four.

 

In a horrifying trend, parents and caregivers—those whom one should be able to trust most—are committing murder against disabled people in their care. In the media, these murders are being labeled justifiable due to the “burden” of the disabled person’s care. The murderers are then given sympathy, and the victims are unfairly disregarded.  The disabled community is coming together to mourn those losses and bring awareness to these tragedies. 

 

ASAN asks you to join us on March 1 in this year’s vigils to bring awareness to the ongoing tragedy, and to demand equal rights, protection and justice for all citizens.

 

Current vigil sites and contact information can be found on the ASAN website.

 

Sacramento, CA
Shyanna Mendes, asansacramento@gmail.com

 

San Francisco Bay Area, CA
Brent White, brent@alacosta-acat.com
Rob Gross, rgross@esoftltd.com

 

Fort Meyers, FL
Suzanne Fast, sfeaal@yahoo.com

 

Atlanta, GA
R. Larkin Taylor-Parker, larkin92@comcast.net

 

Chicago, IL
Carrie Kaufman, CKaufman@accessliving.org

 

Boston, MA
Andrew De Carlo, ardecarlo@gmail.com

 

Baltimore, MD
Amanda Mills, muchbrighter2@gmail.com

 

Towson, MD
Rhonda Greenhaw, rjgwood@gmail.com

 

Houghton, MI
Caroline Maye, cnmaye@mtu.edu

 

Missoula, MT
Mike Beers, mbeers@summitilc.org

 

Lincoln, NE
Sharon DaVanport, sdavanport@gmail.com

 

Woodbridge, NJ
Evelyn Delgado, joyzee_devil@yahoo.com

 

Reno, NV
Brianna Hammon, csdlibrary@gmail.com

 

New City, NY
Jason Ross, jason_s_ross@yahoo.com

 

New York City, NY
Cara Liebowitz, caraliebowitz@gmail.com

 

Rochester, NY
Diane Coleman, dcoleman@notdeadyet.org

 

Syracuse, NY
Alex Umstead, aumstead@syr.edu

 

Eugene, OR
Amber Perry, asperamber@gmail.com

 

Portland, OR
Theresa Soto, tisoto@gmail.com

 

Pittsburgh, PA
Lauren Stuparitz, lestuparitz@gmail.com

 

Seattle, WA
Matt Young, indigowombat@yahoo.com

 

Washington, DC
Melissa Mooney, mmooney6@masonlive.gmu.edu

 

Halifax, Nova Scotia 
Leah Andrews, landrews@nexicom.net

 

Virtual vigil, for those unable to attend a local vigil.



Leave a Reply

*